Our Board

Since 1968, local community action agencies have been required to have tripartite governing boards to gain and retain designation as eligible entities and to receive CSBG funding. Effective tripartite boards reflect and promote the unique anti-poverty leadership, action, and mobilization responsibilities assigned by law to community action agencies. Boards are responsible for assuring that agencies continue to assess and respond to the causes and conditions of poverty in their community, achieve anticipated family and community outcomes, and remain administratively and fiscally sound.


Board Officers

Mary Sramek

Board Chairperson

Public Sector

Susanne Browne

Vice Chairperson

Low Income



        Alison King 


       Public Sector  

Janet Perez 


Private Sector











Board Members

Charles Brown

Private Sector

Janet McCarthy

Private Sector

Jeannine Pearce

Private Sector

  Emery Younes

  Private Sector

Gregory Sanders

Low Income Sector

Susana Sngiem

Low Income Sector


Tripartite Board Composition

Low-Income Sector: For private nonprofit entities, a minimum of one-third of tripartite board membership must be democratically selected representatives of low-income individuals and families who reside in the geographic area being served by the agency. When vacancies occur in the Low-Income Sector, members of the community may apply to fill the vacancy by petition. A link to the Low-Income Sector Application Supplement is here


Public Sector: One-third must be elected officials, holding office at their time of selection, or their representatives. If a sufficient number of elected officials or their representatives are not available to serve, appointive public officials or their representative may take the place of elected officials.


Private Sector: Board members must be chosen from business, industry, labor, regions, law enforcement, education, or other major groups and interests in the community served.